Publisher's Synopsis

Taking place between 1625 and 1628, it follows d'Artagnan (based on Charles de Batz-Castelmore) as he travels to Paris to join the Musketeers of the Guard. Despite being unable to join this elite corps, d'Artagnan befriends "the three musketeers" or "the three inseparable"-Athos, Porthos, and Aramis-and becomes involved in state and court issues. History and adventure dominate The Three Musketeers. However, Dumas often depicts the injustices, excesses, and absurdities of the Ancien Régime, giving the story political significance at a time when republicans and monarchists were still fighting in France. During the July Monarchy, four years before the French Revolution of 1848 founded the Second Republic, Dumas serialized the novel from March to July 1844. Twenty Years After and The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later continue d'Artagnan's saga. Many languages have translated the works of Dumas, one of the most-read French authors. His historical adventure books, The Count de Monte Cristo, The Three Musketeers, Twenty Years After, and The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later, were serialized. His works have inspired approximately 200 films since the early 20th century. Dumas began his career writing plays, which were immediately successful.

Book information

ISBN: 9781963956412
Publisher: Murine Publications LLC
Imprint: Bigfontbooks
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 328
Weight: 762g
Height: 279mm
Width: 216mm
Spine width: 18mm