Providence

Providence A Novel

UK Edition edition

Paperback (23 May 2024)

  • $11.64
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Other formats/editions

Publisher's Synopsis

An introverted English professor's quiet life gets turned upside down when he falls for a dangerous, enigmatic sophomore.

Mark Lausson has everything he thought he wanted: a coveted job at elite Sawyer College in Ohio. But at the start of his second year, stuck in a small town with deadlines piling up and paychecks falling short, Mark can already feel the fantasy crumbling. And then, a few weeks in, sophomore Tyler Cunningham shows up in class. In Tyler-confident, mysterious, and popular-Mark glimpses another way of being in the world. He finds Tyler's self-possession both compelling and unsettling. Caught in the rush of sex and secrets, Mark ignores the increasing evidence that Tyler can't be trusted. But by the time Mark comes to his senses, the irreparable damage is done. Complicating easy ideas of innocence, Providence explores the ways loneliness and desire distort our senses of self and other, right and wrong.

Intense, propulsive, and impossible to put down, Providence is perfect for readers of P. J. Vernon's Bath Haus and Donna Tartt's The Secret History, as well as Patricia Highsmith's Talented Mr. Ripley and Garth Greenwell's What Belongs to You.

Book information

ISBN: 9781454957256
Publisher: Union Square & Co.
Imprint: Union Square & Co.
Pub date:
Edition: UK Edition edition
Language: English
Sales rank: 48926
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 254g
Height: 197mm
Width: 130mm
Spine width: 23mm