These Violent Delights

These Violent Delights

Hardback original

Hardback (17 Nov 2020) | English

  • $21.70
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

6 copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Synopsis

A brilliantly imaginative fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai.

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . .

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane.


'Heady, smart, and vicious' Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear

'Deliciously dark'
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

'Dark and beautiful' Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons

'A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read' June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones

Book information

ISBN: 9781529344523
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 813.6
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Sales rank: 2104
Number of pages: 449
Weight: 931g
Height: 165mm
Width: 240mm
Spine width: 46mm