The Porcelain Maker

The Porcelain Maker

Export ed

Paperback (26 Oct 2023)

  • $17.69
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

Pre-order THE SEEKER OF LOST PAINTINGS, ​a sophisticated and thrilling historical page-turner about love and art, coming October 2024.

'A page-turning journey to uncover a past of heroism, betrayal, love, and loss' Heather Morris, bestselling author of Three Sisters

'So compelling' Sunday Times

Two lovers caught at the crossroads of history
A daughter's search for the truth
 
Germany, 1929.
When Max, a Jewish architect, and Bettina, a beautiful and celebrated German avant-garde artist, meet at a party their attraction is instant. In love with each other and the art they create, their talent transports them to the dazzling lights of Berlin. But Germany is on the brink of terrible change, and their bright beginning is soon dimmed by the rising threat of Nazism.
 
When Max is arrested and sent to the Dachau concentration camp, it is only his talent at making the exquisite porcelain figures so beloved by the Nazis that stands between him and certain death. At first, Bettina has no idea where Max has been taken but when she learns of his fate, she is determined to rescue him whatever the cost.

Now, a lifetime later, Bettina's daughter, Clara, sets out on a journey to uncover the truth about her identity. As she weaves together the fabric of her past, she discovers the terrible secret her mother wanted hidden forever.
 
For fans of Heather Morris and Kristin Hannah, The Porcelain Maker is a sweeping, epic story of love, betrayal and art, set across Europe from the 1920s Weimar Republic, to dark and glittering 1930s Berlin.

Book information

ISBN: 9781398511804
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Imprint: Simon & Schuster UK Ltd.
Pub date:
Edition: Export ed
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 426g
Height: 152mm
Width: 234mm
Spine width: 25mm