The Oresteia

The Oresteia Agamemnon, the Libation Bearers, and The Eumenides - Bloomsbury Revelations

Paperback (24 Apr 2014)

Save $1.42

  • RRP $26.07
  • $24.65
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 2-3 weeks

Publisher's Synopsis

First performed in 458BC, Aeschylus's trilogy of plays - known collectively as The Oresteia - remains perhaps the great masterpiece of Ancient tragic drama. Telling the bloody story of the House of Atreus, Aeschylus's tragedy stages an eternal debate about justice and revenge that remains relevant more than two millenia later. Now available in the Bloomsbury Revelations series in this classic and authoritative translation by Hugh Lloyd-Jones, this book contains the text of all three plays - Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers and The Eumenides - with extensive scholarly annotation throughout.

Book information

ISBN: 9781472526793
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing (UK)
Imprint: Bloomsbury Academic
Pub date:
DEWEY: 882.01
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: xxii, 224
Weight: 326g
Height: 216mm
Width: 138mm
Spine width: 14mm