The First and Second Lady Chatterley Novels

The First and Second Lady Chatterley Novels - The Cambridge Edition of the Works of D. H. Lawrence

Paperback (06 Jun 2002)

Save $0.20

  • $49.20
  • $49.00
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 2-3 weeks


D. H. Lawrence wrote his last novel, Lady Chatterley's Lover, three times in 1926-7, and it is the third version that has become famous. The three versions are in fact three different novels, varying greatly in length, a significant number of episodes, and even some of the main characters. This 1999 book contains a critical edition of the two early versions of the novel: the first in some ways the most realistic and spontaneous version, the second the longest and to many readers and critics the most successful version. The text is printed from its manuscript source, including numerous, sometimes extensive deletions and variations from the first printed editions. An introduction traces the genesis of the novel and gives an account of its publication and reception. There are also notes, explaining literary, historical and geographical names and allusions, and particular problems of manuscript transmission.

Book information

ISBN: 9780521007153
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 732
Weight: 944g
Height: 215mm
Width: 167mm
Spine width: 44mm