The Air Raid Girls

The Air Raid Girls

Hardback original

Hardback (18 Mar 2021)

Save $2.37

  • $28.59
  • $26.22
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Other sellers available

Synopsis

May, 1941. Meet the Air Raid Girls: three young women keen to do their bit during the Yorkshire blitz.

Connie's life has taken an unexpected turn since her husband died - she's living at home and working in the family bakery - but night shifts as an ARP Warden give her a firm sense of purpose.

Her younger sister Lizzie is eager to play her part too, perhaps as an ambulance driver. Her fiance refuses to support her decision... but does he really know what's best for her?

Twenty-year-old Pamela has led a sheltered life, but when her family's home is destroyed in a raid she must learn to stand on her own two feet - helped by new friends.

As bombs fall and fires rage, the young women face the destruction of everything they've ever known. Can their fighting spirit prevail? And what of their families and the men they love?

A thrilling and heartwarming new story of friendship, love and duty in wartime by the author of The Spitfire Girls, for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

Book information

ISBN: 9781787635142
Publisher: Transworld
Imprint: Bantam Press
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 355
Weight: 574g
Height: 163mm
Width: 242mm
Spine width: 36mm