Shuggie Bain

Shuggie Bain

1st paperback ed

Paperback (15 Apr 2021)

Save $1.22

  • $12.25
  • $11.03
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within one working day

Publisher's Synopsis

Winner of the Booker Prize 2020
Winner of 'Book of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021
Winner of 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021
A BBC 'Big Jubilee Read'

'A heartbreaking novel' - The Times
'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' - The judges of the Booker Prize
'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' - Daily Mail
'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' - Observer

It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of Hanya Yanagihara, Emma Donoghue, Alan Hollinghurst and Frank McCourt, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

About the Publisher

Picador

Picador

Picador publishes outstanding international writing, fiction and non-fiction, in both hardback and paperback, and has numerous prize winners on its list. Picador has established a reputation for literary fiction with a broad commercial appeal, groundbreaking non-fiction, (particularly, reportage, literary biography and memoir) and a formidable poetry list, which has consistently won many of the major prizes.

Book information

ISBN: 9781529019292
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Imprint: Picador
Pub date:
Edition: 1st paperback ed
DEWEY: 813.6
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Sales rank: 2277
Number of pages: 430
Weight: 340g
Height: 131mm
Width: 196mm
Spine width: 30mm