Prize Stories 1989

Prize Stories 1989 The O. Henry Awards

Paperback (20 Mar 1989)

  • $19.46
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

"Widely regarded as the nation's most prestigious awards for short fiction"-The Atlantic Monthly
The O. Henry Prize Stories 1989 gathers 20 of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines.

Stories include:
Ernest J. Finney "Peacocks" (first prize)
Joyce Carol Oates "House Hunting" (second prize)
Harriet Doerr "Edie: A Life" (third prize)
Jean Ross "The Sky Fading Upward to Yellow: A Footnote to Literary History"
Starkey Flythe, Jr. "CV10"
Alice Adams "After You've Gone"
Frances Sherwood "History"
Banning K. Lary "Death of a Duke"
T. Coraghessan Doyle "Sinking House"
Catherine Petroski "The Hit"
James Salter "American Express"
David Foster Wallace "Here and There"
Susan Minot "Ile Sèche"
Millicent Dillon "Wrong Stories"
Charles Simmons "Clandestine Acts"
John Casey "Avid"
Barbara Grizzuti Harrison "To Be"
Rick Bass "The Watch"
Ellen Herman "Unstable Ground"
Charles Dickinson "Child in the Leaves"

Book information

ISBN: 9780385246347
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint: Anchor Books
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 505g
Height: 216mm
Width: 140mm
Spine width: 25mm