Poemas Solares

Poemas Solares Solar Poems

Paperback (15 Apr 2010) | English,Spanish

Save $0.90

  • RRP $17.98
  • $17.08
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

3 copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7-10 days

Publisher's Synopsis

A book of cosmological surrealism in the tradition of Octavio Paz, Solar Poems is the first English translation of a single volume of poems by Mexico's famed poet-diplomat Homero Aridjis, exploring political consciousness as well as visionary psychological themes. President emeritus of International PEN, the prolific poet is Mexico's ambassador to UNESCO. Poemas solares (Solar Poems) was published in 2005.

Translator George McWhirter won the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for Catalan Poems, the F.R. Scott Prize for Selected Poems of José Emilio Pacheco, and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for his novel Cage. He is Vancouver's first Poet Laureate.

"Homero Aridjis is a profoundly ecological poet who has put his fame and time where his principles are, fighting to save the monarch butterflies that winter by the billions in the mountains of his native Michoacán, the sea turtle that lays her eggs on Caribbean beaches, and the gray whale that calves in the lagoons of Baja California. Aridjis writes to the point, with an open eye and a sense of humor . . . "-John Oliver Simon, Poetry Flash

Book information

ISBN: 9780872865044
Publisher: City Lights Publishers
Imprint: City Lights Books
Pub date:
DEWEY: 861.64
DEWEY edition: 22
Language: English,Spanish
Number of pages: 269
Weight: 332g
Height: 133mm
Width: 209mm
Spine width: 22mm