For the Love of Animals

For the Love of Animals Stories from My Life as a Vet

Hardback (06 Jul 2023)

Save $4.00

  • RRP $24.41
  • $20.41
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Other formats/editions

Publisher's Synopsis

'A joy to read' - SARA COX

Growing up in Yorkshire and with farming blood in his genes, James Greenwood always knew he would end up as a vet.

Animals have been part of James' life for as long as he can remember, from pulling lambs on a hilltop farm as a child and having stick insects crawling out of his school uniform in class, to renting a flat behind a zoo in Jersey and finding himself treating a newborn baby elephant as a newly qualified vet. Written with his trademark warmth and humour, James offers a fascinating insight into the world of veterinary medicine with tales of treating cats and dogs, horses, pigs and cows, as well as delving deep into his relationship with his beloved and much-missed, one-eyed Labrador, Oliver.

However, the path to realising his childhood ambition has not always been easy and at times he has questioned whether it truly is the best job in the world. Through all of the challenging lows and extraordinary highs, it has been the animals themselves that have spurred James on to want to continue vetting and helping him find his calling as a GP vet.

Warm, poignant and full of heart, James' story is both a beautiful tribute to the role animals play in our lives and a rare glimpse into what it's really like to be a vet, and is perfect for fans of Matt Baker, The Yorkshire Shepherdess and The Supervet.

Book information

ISBN: 9781399605526
Publisher: Orion
Imprint: Seven Dials
Pub date:
DEWEY: 636.089092
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 284 , 8 unnumbered of plates
Weight: 528g
Height: 164mm
Width: 242mm
Spine width: 31mm