Collected Poems

Collected Poems

Paperback (01 Jul 2005)

  • $31.65
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 2-3 weeks

Publisher's Synopsis

All the poems of a great 20th-century poet.

From the astonishing debut Hawk in the Rain (1957) to Birthday Letters (1998), Ted Hughes was one of postwar literature's truly prodigious poets. This remarkable volume gathers all of his work, from his earliest poems (published only in journals) through the ground-breaking volumes Crow (1970), Gaudete(1977), and Tales from Ovid (1997). It includes poems Hughes composed for fine-press printers, poems he wrote as England's Poet Laureate, and those children's poems that he meant for adults as well. This omnium-gatherum of Hughes's work is animated throughout by a voice that, as Seamus Heaney remarked, was simply longer and deeper and rougher than those of his contemporaries.

Book information

ISBN: 9780374529659
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Imprint: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pub date:
DEWEY: 821.914
Language: English
Number of pages: 1376
Weight: 1175g
Height: 211mm
Width: 138mm
Spine width: 60mm