Beauty and Sadness: Mahler's 11 Symphonies

Beauty and Sadness: Mahler's 11 Symphonies

Paperback (19 May 2022)

  • $18.88
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

'A beautiful and important book' - Marina Mahler

Gustav Mahler wrote some of the most challenging and cherished music of all time: eleven extraordinary symphonies that continue to fascinate, intrigue and infuriate music lovers around the world.

In his dazzling new book, David Vernon celebrates these vast but often very private works of art. In stimulating prose, he investigates their theatricality and grandeur, as well as their poetry and intimacy, examining the personal, philosophical and musical influences which shaped their creation.

Each symphony, including Das Lied von der Erde and the unfinished Tenth, is given its own chapter, which also includes a detailed guide to the music, movement by movement.

Above all, this is a book that recognizes the importance of Mahler in musical and cultural history and takes us far into both his creative processes and the works themselves.


Book information

ISBN: 9781739659905
Publisher: Candle Row Press
Imprint: Candle Row Press
Pub date:
DEWEY: 780.92
Language: English
Number of pages: 412
Weight: 466g
Height: 126mm
Width: 202mm
Spine width: 29mm