Bad Taste, or, the Politics of Ugliness

Bad Taste, or, the Politics of Ugliness

Hardback (09 Nov 2023)

Save $3.99

  • RRP $24.32
  • $20.33
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Publisher's Synopsis

TATE BOOK OF THE MONTH 2023

A timely critique of consumer culture which captures this image-obsessed moment in history, perfect for fans of Zadie Smith's Feel Free and Jia Tolentino's Trick Mirror.

This book is not a taste, nor an anti-taste, manual.


This is an interrogation of the importance we place on seemingly objective ideas of taste in a culture that is saturated by imagery, and the dangerous impact this has on our identities, communities and politics. This book is dedicated to understanding the industries of taste. From the food we eat to the way we spend our free time, Olah exposes the shallow waters of 'good' and 'bad' taste and the rigid hierarchies that uphold this age-old dichotomy.

How did minimalism become a virtue, and who can afford to do it justice?

When did blue-collar jackets become a fashion item?

Who stands to gain from the distinction made between beauty, and sex?

Bold, original and provocative, Bad Taste is a revelatory exploration of the intersection between consumerism, class, desire and power, and a rousing call-to-arms to break free from the restrictive ways we see those around us.

'This is a timely book, written in prose that just slips past you, in an informed and conversational manner . . . I enjoyed Bad Taste immensely.' Sheena Patel, The Standard

'Nathalie Olah is one of the sharpest social critics of the post-crash era and Bad Taste doesn't disappoint.'
Sarah Jaffe

Book information

ISBN: 9780349702261
Publisher: Dialogue
Imprint: Dialogue Books
Pub date:
DEWEY: 111.85
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Sales rank: 6845
Number of pages: 228
Weight: 402g
Height: 282mm
Width: 224mm
Spine width: 24mm