Timothy's Book

Timothy's Book Notes of an English Country Tortoise

Paperback (14 Jun 2007)

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

This service is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Other sellers available

Synopsis

Timothy, a wise and eloquent tortoise, has spent some fifty years among humans, living in their midst in the lovely Hampshire village of Selborne, the occasional object of study for his host, Gilbert White, whose letters famously comprise The Natural History of Selborne. But Timothy is inclined to study too. His observations of the natural world that surrounds him can match those of his master for aptness, precision, illumination and beauty - his gaze falls with equal aplomb on the flitting martins and swallows, trooping frogs, mating harvest mice, hares nibbling at the cabbage and, above all, on those 'tottering, stilt-gaited beasts', their instincts so derelict, who tower over Timothy and make their odd ways known to him. Who would guess that a tortoise marooned in the heart of old England could tell us so much? This is a wise, severe and unforgettable old tortoise's own short history of humanity. It is perfect for the Telegraph-to-Attenborough readership, for twitchers, ramblers and National Trusters, for readers of Richard Mabey's Nature Cure and Richard Benson's The Farm, Horatio Clare and The Lore of the Land.

Book information

ISBN: 9781846270550
Publisher: Granta Publications
Imprint: Granta Books
Pub date:
DEWEY: 508.42274
DEWEY edition: 22
Language: English
Number of pages: 180
Weight: 180g
Height: 195mm
Width: 129mm
Spine width: 15mm