The Patrick Melrose Novels

The Patrick Melrose Novels - Everyman's Library CLASSICS

Hardback (07 Nov 2024)

  • $38.48

Includes delivery to the United States

Publisher's Synopsis

The Patrick Melrose Novels hilariously dissect the English upper class, conjuring a world of decadence, amorality, greed, snobbery, and cruelty, but never without the possibility of grace. Taken together, they are one of the most thrilling reading experiences in contemporary fiction.

Edward St. Aubyn chronicled the life of Patrick Melrose across five short novels, painting an acrid portrait of a beleaguered and self-loathing world of privilege. Never Mind unfolds over a day and an evening at the family's chateau in the south of France, where the sadistic and terrifying figure of David Melrose dominates the lives of his rich and unhappy American wife, Eleanor, and their five-year-old son, Patrick.
Bad News opens as Patrick, now twenty-two years old, sets off to collect his father's ashes from New York, where he will spend a drug-crazed twenty-four hours.
Back in England, Some Hope offers Patrick the possibility of recovery (and the most debauched and riotous dinner party in contemporary fiction).
The Booker-shortlisted Mother's Milk returns to the family chateau, where Patrick, now married and a father himself, struggles with child rearing, adultery, his mother's desire for assisted suicide, and the loss of the family home.
At Last, set over the single day of a funeral, is the stunning final volume.

Book information

ISBN: 9781841594286
Publisher: Everyman
Imprint: Everyman
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 952
Weight: 750g
Height: 216mm
Width: 133mm
Spine width: 40mm