In Every Mirror She's Black

In Every Mirror She's Black

UK Airports edition

Paperback (21 Oct 2021)

Save $2.52

  • $21.05
  • $18.53
Pre-order

Includes delivery to USA

Synopsis

A timely and arresting debut novel about what it means to be a Black woman in the world. Perfect for fans of Queenie and Americanah.Three Black women building new lives in Stockholm become linked in unexpected ways to the same influential white man.Successful marketing executive Kemi Adeyemi is lured from the U.S. to Sweden by Jonny von Lundin, CEO of the nation's largest marketing firm, to help fix a PR fiasco involving a racially tone-deaf campaign. A killer at work but a failure in love, Kemi's move is a last-ditch effort to reclaim her social life.A chance meeting with Jonny in business class en route to the U.S. propels former model-turned-flight-attendant Brittany-Rae Johnson into a life of wealth, luxury, and privilege - a life she's not sure she wants - as the object of his unhealthy obsession.And refugee Muna Saheed, who lost her entire family, finds a job cleaning the toilets at Jonny's office as she works to establish her residency in Sweden and, more importantly, seeks connection and a place she can call home.Told through the perspectives of each of the three women, In Every Mirror She's Black is a timely, richly nuanced novel that touches on important social issues of racism, classism, fetishization, and tokenism, and what it means to be a Black woman navigating a white-dominated society.

Book information

ISBN: 9781801108591
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Imprint: Apollo
Pub date:
Edition: UK Airports edition
Language: English
Number of pages: 416
Weight: -1g
Height: 228mm
Width: 145mm