University Tales

Hardback original

Hardback (07 Sep 2023)

Save $2.85

  • RRP $21.48
  • $18.63
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

The delightful new novel from Jack Sheffield, author of the much-loved Teacher series.

York, 1988.

Dr Tom Frith is beginning his first term as a tutor at the University of Eboracum. After teaching primary school children for several years, he's sure shaping the minds of young adults will be a welcome change. But that's before considering the pressures he'll face outside the lecture hall, from helping three hapless students who've been surviving exclusively on porridge, to fielding inappropriate propositions from students chasing higher grades.

And then there's the particular challenge of Edna Wallop, the Acting Head of Faculty. Edna may have grand plans to overhaul the faculty's finances, but Tom can't help being suspicious of her methods...

Meanwhile, Tom meets Inger, an enigmatic Music tutor, and feels an instant spark. One thing's for sure: it's going to be an eventful year on campus, for tutors and students alike!

A hilarious, nostalgic and heart-warming novel about the trials and tribulations of life at a fictional Yorkshire university, perfect for fans of James Herriot and Tom Sharpe.
_

Praise for Jack Sheffield:


'Wry observation and heartwarming humour in equal measure' - Alan Titchmarsh

'Jack Sheffield is certainly top of the class with this heart-warming and feel-good series' - Western Morning News

'Reliably entertaining' - Choice

Book information

ISBN: 9781787635548
Publisher: Transworld
Imprint: Bantam Press
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: x, 323
Weight: 442g
Height: 222mm
Width: 145mm
Spine width: 30mm