Agatha

Agatha

1st paperback ed

Paperback (09 Jul 2020)

Save $0.65

  • $12.68
  • $12.03
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Other sellers available

Synopsis

Set in 1940s Paris, this bittersweet international bestseller this is the perfect novel for fans of A Man Called Ove, My Name is Lucy Barton and The Guest Cat

A psychiatrist is counting down towards his upcoming retirement. He lives alone in his childhood home and has neither friends nor family.

Often, he resorts to drawing bird caricatures of his patients instead of taking notes. His social life consists of brief conversations with his meticulous secretary Madame Surrugue, who has reigned over the clinic for more than thirty years. The two of them have no relationship outside the office, where everything runs smoothly and uneventfully.

Until one day, that is, when a young German woman called Agatha arrives and demands to see the doctor and he soon realizes that underneath her fragile exterior is a strong and fascinating woman. The doctor and Agatha embark upon a course of therapy together, a process that forces the doctor to confront his fear of true intimacy outside the clinic. But is it too late to reconsider your existence as a 71-year-old?

'A shrewd, skilful tale of loneliness, the search for meaning and a place in the world, and the problems of truly relating to another human being.' Independent

About the Publisher

Sceptre

Sceptre

Sceptre is the literary imprint of Hodder & Stoughton bringing you thought-provoking, award-winning and critically acclaimed fiction and non-fiction.

Book information

ISBN: 9781529361384
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Imprint: Sceptre
Pub date:
Edition: 1st paperback ed
DEWEY: 839.8138
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 160
Weight: 120g
Height: 129mm
Width: 196mm
Spine width: 18mm