Down by the Water

Down by the Water

1st paperback ed

Paperback (26 May 2022)

Save $0.96

  • RRP $13.05
  • $12.09
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Publisher's Synopsis

One photo. Seven friends. And a strange face, none of them recognise.

"I loved it - a classy and clever subversion of a country house mystery" Harriet Tyce

** A Sunday Times crime book of the month**

'The end, when it comes, is as unexpected and smart as it gets' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW
'I was kept up all night' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW
'I loved this book, and read the whole thing in two sittings' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW

A group of old friends gather at a remote Scottish castle, one last weekend before Georgie's wedding. Down at the loch, they take a group photo - but what they see stops them cold.

Because there's a stranger behind them.

None of them saw him, and nobody knows where he went. They're miles from the nearest town. Where did he come from, and where did he go?

As the weekend unravels and terrible secrets come to light, it soon becomes clear that their perfect weekend is turning into a perfect nightmare. They're desperate to leave - but someone won't let them.


A page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Catherine Cooper's THE CHALET and Lucy Foley's THE HUNTING PARTY.

Praise for Down By The Water:

"Down By The Water takes the reader on a weekend trip from hell... I loved the classy writing and ever-growing sense of unease in this clever subversion of a classic country house mystery" - Harriet Tyce
"A chilling drama" Sunday Times
"Sinister and atmospheric" - Chris Brookmyre
"Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped" - Susi Holliday
"A gripping mystery." - Nathan Ripley

Book information

ISBN: 9781472272614
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Imprint: Wildfire
Pub date:
Edition: 1st paperback ed
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 406
Weight: 286g
Height: 128mm
Width: 196mm
Spine width: 31mm