Liverpool Songbird

Liverpool Songbird

Reprint

Paperback (09 Jul 2020)

Save $0.84

  • $13.36
  • $12.52
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Synopsis

Lyn Andrews' touching and nostalgic saga LIVERPOOL SONGBIRD is a must-read for fans of Kate Thompson and Nadine Dorries.

Is one young woman's beautiful singing voice enough to bring the success that will free her from poverty?

1925. Alice O'Connor's poor family lives in the heart of Liverpool's toughest slum. Her bullying father drinks away what little he earns, whilst Nelly, her careworn mother, works when she can and begs when she can't. Since she was five young Alice has also begged in the streets around the docks but she has managed to hold on to the hope of something better, a stubborn optimism that keeps her head held high even in her lowest moments.

For Alice knows she has a gift that allows her to rise above the fate that made her life so bitterly hard. Alice O'Connor can sing like an angel . . . It's a gift that will take her far though it is to Liverpool she will always return. But is it enough to bring her the success she needs - and the love and happiness she so desperately craves?

Praise for Lyn Andrews' unforgettable novels:

'A compelling read' Woman's Own

'Gutsy . . . A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community . . . will keep the pages turning' Daily Express

'A page-turning and beautifully written novel' Irish World

Book information

ISBN: 9781472267399
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Imprint: Headline
Pub date:
Edition: Reprint
DEWEY: 823.914
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 373
Weight: 270g
Height: 131mm
Width: 196mm
Spine width: 38mm