Housebreaking

Housebreaking

Hardback original

Hardback (11 Aug 2022)

Save $3.20

  • RRP $22.19
  • $18.99
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Publisher's Synopsis

'A brilliant and exciting debut' Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

'Darkly funny . . . For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ottessa Moshfegh'
Sharlene Teo, award-winning author of Ponti

'A droll, poignant debut with one-liners to bring the house down' Saga Magazine, Book of the Month

'An intensely moving and beautifully written story about family, secrets and moving on - ideal for autumn evenings under a duvet' Stylist magazine

'An amazing debut' Daily Mail



Following a long-standing feud and looking to settle the score, a woman decides to dismantle her home - alone and by hand - and move it across a frozen pond during a harsh New England winter in this mesmerizing debut.

Home is certainly not where Del's heart is. After a local scandal led to her parents' divorce and the rest of her family turned their backs on her, Del left her small town and cut off contact.

Now, with both of her parents gone, a chance has arrived for Del to retaliate.

Her uncle wants the one thing Del inherited: the family home.

Instead of handing the place over, and with no other resources at her disposal, Del decides she will tear the place apart herself - piece by piece.

But Del will soon discover, the task stirs up more than just old memories as relatives-each in their own state of unravelling - come knocking on her door.

This spare, strange, magical book is a story not only about the powerlessness and hurt that run through a family but also about the moments when brokenness can offer us the rare chance to start again.

About the Publisher

Corsair

Corsair

Corsair has also joined Little, Brown from Constable & Robinson and publishes a wide range of literary titles, from the frank, funny musings of ?bad feminist? Roxane Gay to Jennifer Egan?s A Visit From the Goon Squad and Martin Hughes-Game?s memoir on life in the wild. Corsair is a diverse list, united under a single strategy: to publish the very best in ambitious and ground-breaking fiction.

Book information

ISBN: 9781472157522
Publisher: Little, Brown
Imprint: Corsair
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 813.6
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 482g
Height: 145mm
Width: 225mm
Spine width: 37mm