The Crossed-Out Notebook

The Crossed-Out Notebook

Hardback original

Hardback (03 Oct 2019)

Save $9.31

  • RRP $19.20
  • $9.89
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 72 hours

Publisher's Synopsis

'This stylish debut novel by an Oscar-winning Argentine screenwriter (he co-wrote Birdman) is a suspenseful, darkly funny exploration of the creative process and the porous boundary between reality and fiction. Highly recommended' The Mail on Sunday, 'The Best New Fiction'

From the Academy Award-winning co-writer of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.

Pablo, a failed Argentine novelist-turned-screenwriter, has been kidnapped by the greatest Latin American film director of all time and is kept in a basement where he works, day after day, on what he is told must at all costs be a great, world-changing screenplay. Every night, after finishing work on the script, Pablo writes in his notebook and every morning he crosses out what he wrote the night before. The Crossed-Out Notebook is Pablo's diary of this time: being brought food by a maid; being threatened with a gun; vociferously arguing with the director about what he's written the previous day.

The clash between the two men and their different approaches leads to a movie being made, a gun going off, an unlikely escape, and a final confrontation. In the end, The Crossed-Out Notebook is a darkly funny novel full of intrigue and surprise about the essence of the creative process; a short, crazy ode to any artist whose brilliance shines through strangeness and adversity.

About the Publisher

Corsair

Corsair

Corsair has also joined Little, Brown from Constable & Robinson and publishes a wide range of literary titles, from the frank, funny musings of ?bad feminist? Roxane Gay to Jennifer Egan?s A Visit From the Goon Squad and Martin Hughes-Game?s memoir on life in the wild. Corsair is a diverse list, united under a single strategy: to publish the very best in ambitious and ground-breaking fiction.

Book information

ISBN: 9781472154521
Publisher: Little, Brown
Imprint: Corsair
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 863.7
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 247
Weight: 328g
Height: 199mm
Width: 118mm
Spine width: 23mm