The Girl in the Photograph

The Girl in the Photograph

Paperback original

Paperback (15 Jan 2015) | English

  • $12.48
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

2 copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Synopsis

For fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Morton comes a haunting novel about two women separated by decades but entwined by fate.

When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish?

As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph - and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth's . . .

Lifelong fans of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca will adore Kate Riordan's exquisite novel, The Girl in the Photograph.


Praise for The Girl in the Photograph:

'Full of slow-burning tension' Essentials

'A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts' Good Housekeeping

'A well executed, brooding, creepy atmosphere' Sunday Mirror

'A prickly story full of tension' Sunday Express

About the Publisher

Penguin Books

Penguin Books

The first ten paperback Penguin books appeared in 1935 costing 6d each (the price of a packet of cigarettes). Since then the Penguin list has developed enormously, but still aims to bring the best writing to the widest possible audience. Penguin Paperbacks now range from Booker Prize-winning contemporary authors, to mass market bestsellers, with successful history, biography and general non-fiction as well.

Book information

ISBN: 9781405917421
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint: Penguin Books
Pub date:
Edition: Paperback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 439
Weight: 314g
Height: 198mm
Width: 128mm
Spine width: 28mm