The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands

Hardback original

Hardback (20 Jun 2024)

Save $0.67

  • RRP $21.84
  • $21.17
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within one working day

Publisher's Synopsis

A breathtaking historical fantasy set onboard the Great Trans-Siberian Express, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel, The Night Circus and Jessie Burton - available to preorder now!


'I was completely transported by this book . . . I urge everybody to pick up a copy' STUART TURTON

'Breathtaking . . . Abounding with mysteries and marvels
' SAMANTHA SHANNON

'Exceptional. Strange, addictive, immersive, it's a steampunk Piranesi meets His Dark Materials
' JENNIE GODFREY

'Wild and wonderful . . . completely captivating' JENNIFER SAINT

'Mysterious and clever and brilliant' NATASHA PULLEY


It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket.

It is the end of the nineteenth century and the world is awash with marvels. But there is nothing so marvellous as the Wastelands: a terrain of terrible miracles that lies between Beijing and Moscow.

Nothing touches the Wastelands except the Great Trans-Siberian Express: an impenetrable train built to carry cargo across continents, but which now transports anyone who dares.

Onto the platform steps a curious cast of characters: Marya, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Weiwei, a famous child born on the train; and Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist.

But there are whispers that the train isn't safe. As secrets and stories begin to unravel, the passengers and crew must survive their journey together, even as something uncontrollable seems to be breaking in . . .

Book information

ISBN: 9781399607537
Publisher: Orion
Imprint: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Sales rank: 5207
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 600g
Height: 241mm
Width: 166mm
Spine width: 34mm