Worlds Within Worlds (Deseret Alphabet edition): The Story of Nuclear Energy

Worlds Within Worlds (Deseret Alphabet edition): The Story of Nuclear Energy

Paperback (06 Sep 2021)

  • $14.58
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

In addition to being one of the world's greatest science fiction writers, Isaac Asimov (1920-1992) was highly regarded as an indefatigable popularizer of science. In his lifetime, Asimov wrote or edited over approximately five hundred books of science fiction, mysteries, literary annotations, history, various sciences and more. He died of AIDS contracted during open-heart surgery. Asimov's Foundation trilogy won the Hugo Award in 1966 for "Best All-Time Series." It is currently being adapted into a television series on the Apple TV+ streaming service. "Worlds Within Worlds" was originally published as a series of pamphlets by the American Atomic Energy Commission and later in book form by the University Press of the Pacific, Inc., Seattle. Here Asimov recounts the history of nuclear energy starting with John Dalton's original atomic theory from 1808, and ending with the possibility of controlled nuclear fusion and antimatter annihilation, both as yet still in the future. This book is in the Deseret Alphabet, a phonetic alphabet for writing English developed in the mid-19th century at the University of Deseret (now the University of Utah). The Deseret Alphabet Classics series provides Deseret Alphabet editions of some of the great works of English literature and LDS theology. Our goal is to encourage the use of the Deseret Alphabet by making worthwhile reading material widely available.

Book information

ISBN: 9781329051676
Publisher: Lulu Press
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 170
Weight: 236g
Height: 229mm
Width: 152mm
Spine width: 9mm