Too Much

Too Much How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today

Hardback (23 Apr 2020)

Save $5.10

  • RRP $25.13
  • $20.03
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Publisher's Synopsis

Lacing cultural criticism, Victorian literature, and storytelling together, Too Much explores how culture corsets women's bodies, souls, and sexualities - and how we might finally undo the strings.

Written in the tradition of Shrill, Dead Girls, Sex Object and other frank books about the female gaze, Too Much encourages women to reconsider the beauty of their excesses - emotional, physical, and spiritual.

Rachel Vorona Cote braids cultural criticism, theory, and storytelling together in her exploration of how culture grinds away our bodies, souls, and sexualities, forcing us into smaller lives than we desire. An erstwhile Victorian scholar, she sees many parallels between that era's fixation on women's 'hysterical' behavior and our modern policing of the same; in the space of her writing, you're as likely to encounter Jane Eyre and Lizzie Bennet as you are Britney Spears and Lana Del Rey. This book will tell the story of how women, from then and now, have learned to draw power from their reservoirs of feeling, all that makes us 'too much'.

About the Publisher

Sphere

Sphere

Sphere is home to some of the world's best-loved authors and books, ranging from Jenny Colgan and Carole Matthews to Mark Billingham, Val McDermid and even Gwyneth Paltrow. One of the most dynamic and successful commercial imprints in the UK, Sphere aims to publish the highest-quality popular fiction and non-fiction, including thrillers, women's fiction, and celebrity titles. Our books regularly hit the bestseller lists, and we have powered countless authors to household-name status. Our authors are supported by our popular digital platforms The Little Book Caf? and The Crime Vault, which both enjoy a large and loyal following. If you're a lover of popular literature, chances are good you're reading a Sphere book right now.

Book information

ISBN: 9780751580525
Publisher: Little, Brown
Imprint: Sphere
Pub date:
DEWEY: 305.42
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: viii, 343
Weight: 562g
Height: 164mm
Width: 241mm
Spine width: 27mm