Frying Plantain

Frying Plantain

1st paperback ed

Paperback (02 Sep 2021)

Save $1.58

  • RRP $12.70
  • $11.12
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

7 copies available online - Usually dispatched within 72 hours

Publisher's Synopsis

'This is the book I've been waiting to read my entire life on the diasporic Caribbean experience. The writing is sharp, intelligent and everything you'd expect from a talented Jamaican writer. I honestly love this book' Symeon Brown

'Frying Plantain is every bit as delicious as the title suggests' Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie

In her brilliantly incisive debut, Zalika Reid-Benta artfully depicts the tensions between mothers and daughters, second-generation immigrants and first-generation cultural expectations, and Black identity and predominately white society.

Kara Davis is a girl caught in the middle - of her Canadian nationality and her desire to be a 'true' Jamaican, of her mother and grandmother's rages and life lessons, of having to avoid being thought of as too 'faas' or too 'quiet' or too 'bold' or too 'soft'.

Set in Toronto's 'Little Jamaica', Kara moves from girlhood to the threshold of adulthood, from elementary school to high school graduation, in these twelve interconnected stories.

A rich and unforgettable portrait of growing up between worlds, Frying Plantain shows how, in one charged moment, friendship and love can turn to enmity and hate, well-meaning protection can become control, and teasing play can turn to something much darker. A must-read for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Jamaica Kincaid and Zadie Smith.

Book information

ISBN: 9780349701509
Publisher: Dialogue
Imprint: Dialogue Books
Pub date:
Edition: 1st paperback ed
DEWEY: 813.6
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 218g
Height: 150mm
Width: 196mm
Spine width: 23mm