Wild East

Paperback original

Paperback (23 May 2024)

Save $0.16

  • RRP $11.74
  • $11.58
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

The soaring debut YA verse-novel by Ashley Hickson-Lovence, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Manjeet Mann, and Dean Atta.

Pen in one hand, on my wrist, a ticking clock
I've got to make this work, just need a little luck...


When fourteen-year-old Ronny's life is struck by tragedy, his mum decides it's finally time they move out of London.

In his new city, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider and struggles to balance keeping his head down with his ambition of becoming a rapper.

But when a local poet comes into class, Ronny discovers a world he's never considered before. Rap is like spoken word, bars equal poetry - and maybe the combination of both could be the key to achieving his dreams?

Praise for Wild East:

This empowering verse novel announces the arrival of an exciting new talent in YA fiction - Waterstones.com

A powerful story of resilience, friendship, discovery and growth - Jeffrey Boakye, author of Kofi and the Rap Battle Summer

An amazing tale of self-reflection, acceptance, and achieving your greatest aspirations - screenrant.com

Welcomes all types of readers...Hickson-Lovence has crafted a superb piece - DD Armstrong, author of Ugly Dogs Don't Cry

Book information

ISBN: 9780241645444
Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
Imprint: Penguin Books
Pub date:
Edition: Paperback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 234g
Height: 196mm
Width: 130mm
Spine width: 16mm