Three Poets of the First World War

Three Poets of the First World War Ivor Gurney, Isaac Rosenberg and Wilfred Owen - Penguin Classics

Paperback (03 Nov 2011)

Save $1.54

  • RRP $14.08
  • $12.54
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

This new selection brings together the poetry of three of the most distinctive and moving voices to emerge from the First World War. Here are the controlled passion and rich metaphors of Wilfred Owen's celebrated verses such as 'Anthem for Doomed Youth' and 'Strange Meeting', along with many of his lesser-known works. The elegiac poems of Ivor Gurney, including 'Requiem' and 'The Silent One', reflect his love of language, music and landscape, while the visceral works of Isaac Rosenberg, such as 'Break of Day in the Trenches', are filled with stark imagery but also, as in 'Louse Hunting', with vitality and humour. Each poet reflects the disparate experiences of ordinary soldiers in war, and attempts to capture man's humanity in the most inhumane of circumstances.

Book information

ISBN: 9780141182070
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Pub date:
DEWEY: 821.9120803581
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 184
Weight: 188g
Height: 127mm
Width: 197mm
Spine width: 15mm