Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

Paperback (25 Jun 2009) | English

Save $1.98

  • $12.75
  • $10.77
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Synopsis

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog, Roger Deakin.

'Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic' Spectator

'A lovely book that is a poignant epitaph to a remarkable individual' Amazon Review
________________

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakinkept notebooks. In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm. Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world.

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills readers with a desire to explore the world around them.
________________

'A secular saint' The Times

'Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable . . . to be read and reread and treasured' Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail

'Very funny, sharp-eyed. To look at the world through Deakin's eyes was to see somewhere that was more wonderful than it often appears' Sunday Telegraph

'Thoughtful and invigorating, full of humour, timeless . . . will take its place among the classics of Nature diaries . . . to be read alongside Frances Kilvert, Gilbert White, and Dorothy Wordsworth' Mail on Sunday

'So busy and bustling with life' Observer

About the Publisher

Penguin Books

Penguin Books

The first ten paperback Penguin books appeared in 1935 costing 6d each (the price of a packet of cigarettes). Since then the Penguin list has developed enormously, but still aims to bring the best writing to the widest possible audience. Penguin Paperbacks now range from Booker Prize-winning contemporary authors, to mass market bestsellers, with successful history, biography and general non-fiction as well.

Book information

ISBN: 9780141039022
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint: Penguin Books
Pub date:
DEWEY: 508.092
DEWEY edition: 22
Language: English
Sales rank: 6894
Number of pages: 308
Weight: 228g
Height: 196mm
Width: 130mm
Spine width: 20mm