Clochemerle

Paperback (02 Sep 2004)

Save $0.71

  • RRP $13.03
  • $12.32
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

A funny look at the social and political dynamic of French village life.

Gabriel Chevallier's delightful novel Clochemerle satirizes the titanic confrontation of secular and religious forces in a small wine-growing village in Beaujolais. The eruption begins when the socialist mayor decides that he wants to leave behind a monument to his administration's achievements. He takes as his model the ancient Romans, who were famous for two things: hygiene and noble edifices. Thus, he decides to unite the two concepts...by constructing a public urinal in the centre of town. There is one problem, however: the chosen locale is next to the village church, and this outrages the ecclesiastical party.

*Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris's Chocolate*

Book information

ISBN: 9780099453888
Publisher: Random House
Imprint: Vintage Classics
Pub date:
DEWEY: 843.912
DEWEY edition: 22
Language: English
Number of pages: 317
Weight: 238g
Height: 198mm
Width: 129mm
Spine width: 22mm