This Tender Land

This Tender Land

Paperback (30 Sep 2020) | English

  • $24.58
Pre-order

Includes delivery to USA

5 copies available online - Pre-order Dispatch on 30 Sep 2020

Synopsis

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, "a gripping, poignant tale swathed in both mythical and mystical overtones" (Bob Drury, New York Times bestselling author) that follows four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.

1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.

Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will fly into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en-thralling, big-hearted epic that is "more than a simple journey; it is a deeply satisfying odyssey, a quest in search of self and home" (Booklist).

Book information

ISBN: 9781432881795
Publisher: Gale, a Cengage Company
Imprint: Large Print Press
Pub date:
DEWEY: 813.54
Language: English
Number of pages: 692
Weight: -1g
Height: 216mm
Width: 140mm
Spine width: 0mm