The Stars in Our Pockets

The Stars in Our Pockets Getting Lost and Sometimes Found in the Digital Age

Hardback (20 Jan 2020)

Save $5.35

  • $23.43
  • $18.08
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Synopsis

Howard Axelrod spent two years living in solitude after a basketball accident left him blinded in one eye. In his memoir, The Point of Vanishing, he recounts his search for a means of orienting himself in the world. Now, Axelrod spins his personal philosophy out into the wider world, where technology is changing the nature of human consciousness faster than we can see it happening. He draws a parallel between the environmental crisis and a lesser-known, but equally pressing issue: as we lose the world around us, he argues, we are losing our interior worlds, too. We can't navigate without a GPS, we can't pay attention unless our attention is DEMANDED in all caps and moving pictures. We tap our phones 2,617 times a day, inadvertently deciding to rely on these devices instead of our minds to provide our lives with content and meaning. In the tradition of Leslie Jamison's Empathy Exams, Axelrod marshals cultural and theoretical ideologies to ask questions both personal and universal.

About the Publisher

Beacon Press

Beacon Press

Beacon Press is an independent publisher of serious non-fiction. Our books often change the way readers think about fundamental issues they promote such values as freedom of speech and thought diversity, religious pluralism, and anti-racism and respect for diversity in all areas of life.

Book information

ISBN: 9780807036754
Publisher: Beacon Press
Imprint: Beacon Press
Pub date:
DEWEY: 303.4833
DEWEY edition: 23
Number of pages: 169
Weight: 356g
Height: 225mm
Width: 224mm
Spine width: 17mm