The Mindfulness Survival Kit

The Mindfulness Survival Kit Five Essential Practices

Paperback (07 Mar 2014) | English

Save $2.83

  • $13.83
  • $11.00
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours


The Five Mindfulness Trainings (also referred to as "Precepts")-not to kill, steal, commit adultery, lie, or take intoxicants-are the basic statement of ethics and morality in Buddhism. Zen Master and peace activist Thich Nhat Hanh argues eloquently for their applicability in our daily lives and on a global scale. Nhat Hanh discusses the value and meaning of each precept, offering insights into the role that it could play in our changing society.

Thich Nhat Hanh calls the trainings a "diet for a mindful society." With this book he offers a Buddhist contribution to the current thinking on how we can come together to define secular, moral guidelines that will allow us to explore and sustain a sane, compassionate, and healthy way of living. The Five Mindfulness Trainings offer a path to restoring meaning and value in our world, whether called virtues, ethics, moral conduct, or precepts they are guidelines for living without bringing harm to others.

Book information

ISBN: 9781937006341
Publisher: Parallax Press
Imprint: Parallax Press
Pub date:
DEWEY: 294.34435
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 203
Weight: 180g
Height: 169mm
Width: 129mm
Spine width: 16mm