The Leviathan

Signed by the Author

Hardback (03 Feb 2022)

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

This service is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Publisher's Synopsis

Signed by the author


SHE IS AWAKE... Norfolk, 1643.

With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft. Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.

Something has awoken, and now it will not rest. Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.

A beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.

'Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing' Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

Book information

ISBN: 2100000282135
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing (UK)
Imprint: Raven Books
Pub date:
Edition: Signed by the Author
Sales rank: 2925
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 300g
Height: 163mm
Width: 243mm
Spine width: 32mm