The Final Innings

The Final Innings The Cricketers of Summer 1939

2nd edition

Paperback (05 Aug 2020)

  • $18.84
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Other sellers available


Joint winner of the Cricket Society and MCC Book of the Year 2020 award

The declaration of war against Germany on 3 September 1939 brought an end to the second (and as yet, final) Golden Age of English cricket. Over 200 first-class English players signed up to fight in that first year; 52 never came back. In many ways, the summer of 1939 was the end of innocence.

Using unpublished letters, diaries and memoirs, Christopher Sandford recreates that last summer, looking at men like George Macaulay, who took a wicket with his first ball in Test cricket but was struck down while serving with the RAF in 1940; Maurice Turnbull, the England allrounder who fell during the Normandy landings; and Hedley Verity, who still holds cricketing records, but who died in the invasion of Sicily. Few English cricket teams began their first post-war season without holding memorial ceremonies for the men they had lost: The Final Innings pays homage not only to these men, but to the lost innocence, heroism and human endurance of the age.

Book information

ISBN: 9780750994699
Publisher: The History Press
Imprint: The History Press
Pub date:
Edition: 2nd edition
DEWEY: 796.358092241
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 376g
Height: 130mm
Width: 194mm
Spine width: 26mm