The Crystal Run

The Crystal Run - Crystal Run

1st paperback ed

Paperback (04 May 2017) | English

  • $9.97
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

1 copy available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Synopsis

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.

'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'

Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia has
fulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.

But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.

Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terrible
lies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.

Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

About the Publisher

Hodder Children's Books

Hodder Children's Books

Hodder Children's Books is home to a cross-section of respected and prize-winning writers and illustrators and to some of the brightest new talents in fiction for children and young adults. Brands from Enid Blyton to CHERUB, authors from Hilary McKay to David Almond and Cressida Cowell, artists from David Melling to Alex T. Smith, sit side-by-side on a list that is simply unparalleled.

Book information

ISBN: 9781444927085
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Pub date:
Edition: 1st paperback ed
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 316
Weight: 312g
Height: 128mm
Width: 196mm
Spine width: 31mm