The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson (Series First Through Third)

The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson (Series First Through Third)

Paperback (01 Jan 2012)

  • $13.97
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 7 days

Publisher's Synopsis

Emily Dickinson (1830-1886), the reclusive and intensely private poet saw only a few of her poems (she wrote well over a thousand) published during her life. After discovering a trove of manuscripts left in a wooden box, Dickinson's sister Lavinia fortunately chose to disobey Emily's wishes for her work to be burned after death. With the help of Amherst professors, Lavinia brought her sister's gifted verse into print. It is here, in "The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson", that we witness her singular poetic depth and range of style. Collected are the first three series of her posthumous publishing career coming out respectively in 1890, 1891, and 1896. The myth that surrounds Dickinson's life is enhanced by the ethereal quality of her poetry. With the coming of New Criticism in the 1930's and 40's, Dickinson experienced unprecedented posthumous acclaim, solidifying her place in American letters. Dickinson's idiom is as varied as her meter, and her unconventional use of punctuation, metaphor, and image make her an innovator of the lyric akin to many of the early modernists. These poems examine love, death, and nature with an effortless yet complex tone and voice. Now one of the most read and admired American poets, Dickinson's poetry continues to resonate with readers.

Book information

ISBN: 9781420945218
Publisher: Neeland Media
Pub date:
DEWEY: 811.4
Language: English
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 298g
Height: 228mm
Width: 154mm
Spine width: 12mm