Strays

Strays The True Story of a Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey Across America

Paperback (26 Jun 2018)

Save $0.72

  • $18.12
  • $17.40
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 2-3 weeks

Other sellers available

Synopsis

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, "this lovely, luminous story will warm your heart and make you laugh and want to share your life with a rescue cat" (Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, author of The Nine Emotional Lives of Cats).

Alcoholic and depressed, Michael King lives on the streets of Portland, Oregon, and sleeps in a UPS loading bay. One raining night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat cowering beneath a café table and takes her in. He names her Tabor, nurses her back to health, and she becomes something of a celebrity in Southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards, bears, angry steers, and rainstorms.

Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and are moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when he's down, giving him someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner.

As they make their way along the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each other's troubled pasts. When Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat. Michael is faced with the difficult choice of keeping Tabor or returning her to her rightful owner--and, once again, facing the streets alone.

Book information

ISBN: 9781501125621
Publisher: Atria Books
Imprint: Atria Books
Pub date:
DEWEY: 636.8
Language: English
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 227g
Height: 211mm
Width: 137mm
Spine width: 20mm