SprawlBall

SprawlBall A Visual Tour of the New Era of the NBA

Paperback (13 Oct 2020) | English

Save $2.69

  • $22.41
  • $19.72
Pre-order

Includes delivery to USA

Synopsis

"Beautifully illustrated and sharply written, SprawlBall is both a celebration and a critique of the three-point shot. If you want to understand how the modern NBA came to be, you'll need to read this book."—Nate Silver, editor, fivethirtyeight.comFrom the leading expert in the exploding field of basketball analytics, a stunning infographic decoding of the modern NBA: who shoots where, how well, and why​ The field of basketball analytics has leaped into overdrive thanks to Kirk Goldsberry, whose spatial and visual analyses of players, teams, and positions have helped us all understand who really is the most valuable player at any position. SprawlBall combines stunning visuals, in-depth analysis, behind-the-scenes stories, and gee-whiz facts to chart a modern revolution.  Since the introduction of the three-point line, the game has changed drastically, with players like Steph Curry and James Harden leading the charge. In chapters like "The Geography of the NBA," "The Interior Minister (LeBron James)," "The Evolution of Steph Curry," and "The Investor (James Harden)," Goldsberry explains why today's on-court product—with its emphasis on shooting, passing, and spacing—has never been prettier or more democratic. And it's never been more popular. For fans of Bill Simmons and FreeDarko,SprawlBall presents a bold new vision of the game, giving fans an innovative, cutting-edge look at the sport based on the latest research, as well as a visual and infographic feast for fans.

Book information

ISBN: 9780358329756
Publisher: HMH Books
Imprint: Mariner Books
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 644g
Height: 256mm
Width: 296mm
Spine width: 12mm