Skin of the Sea - Skin of the Sea

First edition

Hardback (02 Nov 2021)

Save $5.22

  • RRP $24.08
  • $18.86
Add to basket

Includes delivery to the United States

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 72 hours

Publisher's Synopsis

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER  The must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 NYT bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls "epic and original," in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and anyone who can't wait for the live-action The Little Mermaid.

"Riveting." -NPR
"Evocative." -Entertainment Weekly
"Remarkable." -Buzzfeed


A way to survive.
A way to serve.
A way to save.

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata-a mermaid-collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys back home.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard, Simi goes against an ancient decree and does the unthinkable-she saves his life. And punishment awaits those who dare to defy the gods.

To protect the other Mami Wata, Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends. But all is not as it seems. There's the boy she rescued, who knows more than he should. And something is shadowing Simi, something that would rather see her fail . . .

Danger lurks at every turn, and as Simi draws closer, she must brave vengeful gods, treacherous lands, and legendary creatures. Because if she fails, she risks not only the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

Book information

ISBN: 9780593120941
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Imprint: Random House Books for Young Readers
Pub date:
Edition: First edition
DEWEY: [Fic]
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 309
Weight: 454g
Height: 150mm
Width: 226mm
Spine width: 32mm