On the Black Hill

On the Black Hill

Audio CD (23 Jul 2019)

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Synopsis

Whitbread Award Winner: A novel by the author of In Patagonia, about a pair of twins and their long, remarkable lives in the farmlands of Wales.

For forty-two years, identical twins Lewis and Benjamin Jones have shared a bed, a farm, and a life. But the world has scarred and warped them each in different ways. Lewis is sturdy, still strong enough at eighty to wield an ax all day, and though he's hardly ever ventured outside his little village on the English border, he dreams of far-off lands. Benjamin is gentler, a cook whose favorite task is delivering baby lambs, and even in his old age, he remains devoted to the memory of his mother.

The unusual twins have seen a country change and an empire fall, and in their shared memory lies an epic story of the century that remade Britain. From the stories of their father's youth to their own dotage, there is nothing these farmers haven't seen--or heard.

Famed travel author Bruce Chatwin brings his unique understanding of landscape and culture to his debut novel, an intense examination of a little patch of Wales. Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the Whitbread Literary Award, and written in the tradition of Wuthering Heights and The Mayor of Casterbridge, this entry on the list of "1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die" is an all-time classic from the author of bestsellers such as In Patagonia and The Songlines.

Book information

ISBN: 9781978658394
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Imprint: Brilliance Audio
Pub date:
DEWEY: FIC
Language: English
Weight: -1g
Height: 140mm
Width: 165mm
Spine width: 16mm