Lalani of the Distant Sea

Lalani of the Distant Sea

eBook (03 Sep 2019)

Not available for sale

Instant Download - EPub

- Read on your eReader, tablet, mobile, MAC or desktop PC.
- Currently not compatible with Amazon Kindle.

Synopsis

Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.Kirkus (starred review)A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medalwinning author of When You Reach MeNewbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kellys debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.When Lalani Saritas mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lins Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disneys Moana. Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores. When Lalani Saritas mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible taskshe must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same questhow can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend? Newbery Medalist and New York Timesbestselling author Erin Entrada Kellys debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolks Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhills The Girl Who Drank the Moon.

Book information

ISBN: 9780062747297
Imprint: HarperCollins
Pub date:
Weight: -1g