Essays

Essays

Hardback (07 Nov 2019)

Save $1.19

  • $28.27
  • $27.08
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours

Synopsis

From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can't and Won't and The End of the Story - a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion

'She's a joy. There's no writer quite like her' Ali Smith


'Among my most favourite writers. Read her now!' A. M. Homes

The visionary, fearless Lydia Davis presents a dazzling collection of essays on reading and writing, exploring the full scope of possibility within existing forms of literature and considering how we might challenge and reinvent these forms.

Through Thomas Pynchon, Michel Leiris, Maurice Blanchot, Lucia Berlin, Joan Mitchell and others, he author considers her many creative influences. And, through these lenses, she returns to her own writing process, her relationship to language and the written word. Beautifully formed, thought-provoking, playful and illuminating, these pieces are a masterclass in reading and writing.

Book information

ISBN: 9780241371473
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint: Hamish Hamilton
Pub date:
DEWEY: 814.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 776g
Height: 201mm
Width: 126mm
Spine width: 39mm