Crow Fair

Crow Fair - Vintage Contemporaries

Paperback (08 Mar 2016) | English

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

Synopsis

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year

Set in his beloved Big Sky country, these stories attest to the generous compass of Thomas McGuane's fellow feeling, as well as to his unique way with words and a comic genius in the vein of Twain and Gogol. In this triumphant collection, filled with grace and humor, the ties of family make for uncomfortable binds: A devoted son is horrified to discover his mother's antics before she slipped into dementia, and a father's outdoor skills are no match for a change in the weather. But complications arise equally in the absence of blood, as when lifelong friends on a fishing trip finally confront their deep dislike for each other. Or when a gifted traveling cattle breeder succumbs to the lure of a stranger's offer of easy money. McGuane is as witty and large-hearted as we have ever known him, and Crow Fair is a jubilant, thunderous confirmation of his status as a modern master.

Book information

ISBN: 9780345805911
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint: Vintage Books
Pub date:
Language: English
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 213g
Height: 203mm
Width: 132mm
Spine width: 15mm