Chance Witness

Chance Witness An Outsider's Life in Politics

Expanded and updated edition

Paperback (25 Jul 2013)

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

This service is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Other sellers available

Synopsis

Chance Witness by Matthew Parris - a hilarious and fascinating portrait of life in politics, from Thatcher to Blair

Winner of the Channel 4 / Politico's Political Book of the Year Award

'Made me laugh out loud. A book full of wisdom' Simon Hoggart, Guardian

In this surprising and eccentric autobiography from a former Conservative MP, Matthew Parris writes of his personal and political life with equal candour. With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, he decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. He has worked with Margaret Thatcher, Chris Patten, Tony Blair and Michael Portillo, and his observations of political lifeand those who move within it are truly fascinating. This colourful memoir is an account of a young life already well lived.

For readers of Margaret Thatcher by Charles Moore, and fans of The End of the Party by Andrew Rawnsley, this is a fascinating glimpse into modern British politics.

'A five-star autobiography. Dazzling, hilarious and wonderful' Sunday Times

Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. He was a Conservative MP from 1979 to 1986, since when he has worked as a journalist. He is the author of A Castle in Spain, the acclaimed story of his medieval home in L'Avenc, as well as the bestselling books Parting Shots and A Spanish Ambassador's Suitcase, both based on the BBC Radio 4 series. He divides his time between Derbyshire (where his old constituency was situated) and east London.

Book information

ISBN: 9780241968291
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint: Penguin Books
Pub date:
Edition: Expanded and updated edition
DEWEY: 941.085092
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: xix, 524 , 16 unnumbered of plates
Weight: 406g
Height: 196mm
Width: 131mm
Spine width: 35mm