Arrowood and the Thames Corpses

Arrowood and the Thames Corpses

Paperback original

Paperback (02 Apr 2020) | English

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

Synopsis

A gripping historical crime novel, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom

'Crackles with energy and wit' The Times

South London, 1896.

William Arrowood, Victorian London's less salubrious private detective, is paid a visit by Captain Moon, the owner of a pleasure steamer moored on the Thames. He complains that someone has been damaging his boat, putting his business in jeopardy.

Arrowood and his trusty sidekick Barnett suspect professional jealousy, but when a shocking discovery is pulled from the river, it seems like even fouler play is afoot.

It's up to Arrowood and Barnett to solve the case, before any more corpses end up in the watery depths . . .

Praise for Mick Finlay:

'Another brilliant read from Mick Finlay . . . even better than [Arrowood]' B.A. Paris

'Astounding … If you crave Victorian age murder mystery, love darkly gothic atmospheres and want your detective rather tattered and torn at the edges Arrowood is your man.' SHOTS

'Enthralling' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

About the Publisher

MIRA

MIRA

With a heritage stretching back nearly 200 years, HarperCollins is one of the world's foremost English-language publishers, offering the best quality content right across the spectrum, from cutting-edge contemporary fiction to digital hymnbooks and pretty much everything in between. In the UK, the Glasgow-based William Collins & Sons was founded in 1819 and published a range of bibles, atlases and dictionaries, later including classic authors HG Wells, Agatha Christie, JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis. The original Harper Brothers Company was established in New York City in 1817 and over the years published the works of Mark Twain, the Bronte Sisters, Thackeray, Dickens, John F Kennedy and Martin Luther King Jr. In 1987, Harper & Row, as it had then become, was acquired by News Corporation. The worldwide group was formed following News Corp's 1990 acquisition of William Collins & Sons. Today we publish some of the world's foremost authors, from Nobel prize-winners to worldwide bestsellers recent successes including the Booker-winning Wolf Hall and Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel, and George RR Martin's blockbusting A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Book information

ISBN: 9780008324520
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint: MIRA
Pub date:
Edition: Paperback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 292g
Height: 129mm
Width: 197mm
Spine width: 29mm