Alternative Alcott

Alternative Alcott - The American Women Writers Series

Hardback (30 Mar 1988) | English

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

Other formats/editions


The discovery in recent years of Louisa May Alcott's pseudonymous sensation stories has made readers and scholars increasingly aware of her accomplishments beyond her most famous novel, Little Women, one of the great international best-sellers of all time. What has been recovered throws new light on the children's books and asks us to question our assumptions about the suposedly staid and sentimental Alcott. Alternative Alcott includes works never before reprinted, including ""How I Went Out to Service,"" ""My Contraband,"" and ""Psyche's Art."" It also contains Behind a Mask , her most important sensation story; the full and correct text of her last unfinished novel, Diana and Persis ; ""Transcendental Wild Oats""; Hospital Sketches ; and Alcott's other important texts on nineteenth-century social history. This anthology brings together for the first time a variety of Louisa May Alcott's journalistic, satiric, feminist, and sensation texts. Elaine Showalter has provided an excellent introduction and notes to the collection.

Book information

ISBN: 9780813512716
Publisher: Rutgers University Press
Imprint: Rutgers University Press
Pub date:
DEWEY: 813.4
DEWEY edition: 19
Language: English
Number of pages: 462
Weight: 739g
Height: 230mm
Width: 150mm