Shoko's Smile

Shoko's Smile

Short stories

Hardback (19 Aug 2021)

Save $2.79

  • $18.32
  • $15.53
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within two working days

Publisher's Synopsis

'Written with sober detail, filmic precision and absolute control . . . an incredibly impressive collection told with realism, seriousness and moral integrity' Observer

In crisp, unembellished prose, Choi Eunyoung paints intimate portraits of the lives of young women in South Korea, balancing the personal with the political. In the title story, a fraught friendship between an exchange student and her host sister follows them from adolescence to adulthood. In 'A Song from Afar', a young woman grapples with the death of her lover, travelling to Russia to search for information about the deceased. In 'Secret', the parents of a teacher killed in the Sewol ferry sinking hide the news of her death from her grandmother.

In the tradition of Sally Rooney, Banana Yoshimoto, and Marilynne Robinson - writers from different cultures who all take an unvarnished look at human relationships and the female experience - Choi Eunyoung is a writer to watch.

Translated by Sung Ryu.

Book information

ISBN: 9781529376029
Publisher: John Murray Press
Imprint: John Murray
Pub date:
Edition: Short stories
DEWEY: 895.735
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 334g
Height: 138mm
Width: 206mm
Spine width: 32mm